2015 Aberdeen Municipal Election

         The final results of the election yielded a tie between candidates Sean DeBonis and Stephen A. Smith for one of the Council seats. The City Attorney was consulted regarding this matter.  There were no provisions in the Charter of the City for a run off election.  It was the recommendation of the City Attorney and the City Manager, that to properly seat the fourth Council seat, it was necessary to follow the provisions of the Charter, Section 5, Paragraph 17. Charter, Section V, Paragraph 17.  In the case of a vacancy in the office of Council member, that office shall be filled by the Mayor with the approval of the majority of the remaining members of the Council.

Actions of the Mayor and Council to fill the vacancy:

          On December 21, 2015, the Mayor nominated Sean DeBonis for Council.  The nomination failed with a vote of:  1 - yes; 3 - no; 1 - vacant.  

          On February 8, 2016, the Mayor nominated Jason Kolligs for Council.  The nomination failed with a vote of:  1 - yes; 3 - no; 1 - vacant.

           On April 11, 206, the vacancy left on the Council since the November 2015 Election was filled.  The Mayor and Council voted favorably at the April 11, 2016 Council Meeting, by a vote of 3 - yes; 1 - no, for the appointment of Steven E. Goodin for Council. .

                                             Yeas:  Mayor McGrady, Councilwoman Landbeck, and Councilman Taylor

                                             No:  Councilman Lindecamp

Councilman Steven E. Goodin was duly sworn by Harford County Chief Deputy Clerk, Linda Setttle. 

        If you have any other questions regarding the election, please contact City Clerk Monica Correll at 410-272-1600, ext. 211, or mcorrell@aberdeenmd.gov

Public documents pertaining to the 2015 Election may be found below:









Office of Mayor: 

Michael E. Bennett, Ruth E. Elliott, Patrick McGrady, Marla Posey-Moss

Office of Council: 

Carol P. Bruce, Sean DeBonis, Daniel Forte, Jason Kolligs, Barbara Osborn Kreamer, Sandra J. Landbeck, Timothy W. Lindecamp, Stephen A. Smith, Melvin T. Taylor


Voting Information:

Election Date:   Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Place:               Aberdeen Senior Center, 7 Franklin Street

Polls Open:      7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

      To vote in the Aberdeen Municipal Election you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age, live within the municipal boundaries of the City of Aberdeen, and a registered voter with the Harford County Board of Elections.

  • Register to vote with the Harford County Board of Elections by filling out a Voter Registration Application.

  • If you are already registered, make sure your voter status is active and current.

  • You may find information on how to register to vote or check you voter status at www.harfordvotes.info.

  • Voter registration applications are available in the Aberdeen City Hall lobby or by clicking on this link, Voter Registration Application.

  • Remember: voter registration applications must be mailed or dropped off to the Harford County Board of Elections, 133 Industry Lane, Forest Hill, MD 21050.

  • The voter registration deadline is October 13, 2015.

  • Click here for an Absentee Ballot Application. Please return this to the Harford County Board of Elections.  Deadline:  October 27, 2015. 

  • Once the absentee ballot is received, mail (or drop  off) to Aberdeen City Hall no later than 5 p.m. on Election Day, or to an election judge at the Polling Place (Aberdeen Senior Center, 7 Franklin Street) no later than 8 p.m. on Election Day.

  • Questions?  Call the Harford County Board of Elections at 410-638-3565 or the City of Aberdeen, City Clerk Monica Correll at 410-272-1600, extension 211.



Candidate Packages:

Attention:  The Filing Period has now closed.

Those wishing to run for Mayor or Council may acquire a Candidate Package from the City Hall Receptionist, the City Clerk, or by clicking here: 

Aberdeen Municipal Election 2015 Candidate Package (no longer available)

IMPORTANT:  The candidate must submit the completed forms to the City Clerk in person.  It is recommended to call to schedule a time to submit your forms to avoid any inconvenience. (410) 272-1600, extension 211.